The Devro board represent expertise in all the critical area of our business. Its our collective job to look after the interests of the shareholders and employees, our customers and suppliers, the communities where we work, and the broader society we serve. We are:


Gerard Hoetmer


Gerard joined Devro in July 2013 as a Non-Executive Director and was appointed Chairman of the Board in 2014. Previously Chief Executive of Corbion, an international bio-based products company, Gerard started his career with Unilever in 1980. Gerard holds three other Non-Executive positions. He has been Chairman (unpaid) of the supervisory board of Feyenoord, the Rotterdam football club since March 2015. He is also Chairman of the supervisory board of Aon Groep Nederland B.V. since June 2015, and in May 2016 was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Evolva Holding SA, a Swiss bio-tech company.

Gerard is Chairman of the Nomination Committee.


Rutger Helbing

Chief Executive

Rutger joined Devro as Group Finance Director in April 2016 and became Chief Executive on 28 February 2018.

Prior to joining the company, he was Group Chief Financial Officer of Element Six, the global leader in manufacturing synthetic diamond supermaterials. Previously, Rutger held senior positions in finance and general management with ICI/Akzo Nobel and Unilever. A Dutch national with a postgraduate degree in finance from the Free University, Amsterdam and a degree in economics from Erasmus University, Rutger has managed finance functions during periods of significant growth and change at international businesses for over 20 years.


Jane Lodge

Non-Executive Director

Jane joined Devro in March 2012.

Jane is a Non-Executive Director and Audit Chairman of Costain Group PLC, DCC plc and Sirius Minerals plc. A chartered accountant, Jane was a senior audit partner with Deloitte, where she spent over 25 years advising global manufacturing companies including businesses in the food and automotive sectors. Jane was a member of the CBI Manufacturing Council until 2011. Her extensive experience with manufacturing companies and her strategic work with Deloitte has given her a strong international business perspective.

Jane is Chairman of the Audit Committee.


Malcolm Swift

Non-Executive Director

Malcolm was appointed to the Board at the AGM on 26 April 2017.

Malcolm brings his expertise in the food industry to the Devro Board. He is President of the Global Industrial division of McCormick & Co, Inc. offering flavour solutions for nine of the top 10 global food and beverage manufacturers, and President of McCormick International, comprising all retail and industrial operations outside the Americas for the parent company. In his current role as President of McCormick International, he is leading significant initiatives in Asia-Pacific, and was previously responsible for the turnaround of the EMEA business.

Malcolm began his career with Price Waterhouse, before moving to roles with Mars, Diageo, Time Warner and Hero AG, a Swiss-based nutrition company.

He takes over as Chairman of the Health and Safety Committee following Paul Withers move to Chair of the Executive Directors’ Remuneration Committee.


Paul Withers

Non-Executive Director

Paul joined Devro in April 2011.

Paul was Group Managing Director of BPB plc, leading businesses in the UK, the rest of Europe and the emerging markets as well as bringing leadership to the group’s strategy development. He is Senior Independent Director at Keller Group plc, and has served as Senior Independent Director at both Hyder Consulting plc and Premier Farnell plc.

He therefore brings significant experience of international business to Devro’s Board.

Following Paul Neep’s retirement in April 2017, Paul Withers has taken over as the Senior Independent Director and as Chairman of the Executive Directors’ Remuneration Committee.